Pinelands Regional Board of Ed Election Will Be Contested This November

But Only One Candidate Files for Three Seats In Little Egg Harbor District
By Rick Mellerup | Aug 07, 2019

Little Egg Harbor Township — The Pinelands Regional School District Board of Education will have a new president in 2020.

Pinelands has a nine-person board, with six representing Little Egg Harbor while Tuckerton, Eagleswood and Bass River have one representative each. Four seats are up for grabs this fall, three for full three-year terms and one for one year. All four are LEH seats.

The current president, Susan M. Ernst, will not run for reelection this November. When asked why she simple responded “Too many reasons to list.”

Another member of the Pinelands BOE, Stephen Kubricki, will also not seek reelection. He said he was soon retiring from his job at Stockton University and he and his wife are considering a move, so he couldn’t commit to a three-year obligation. When asked if he knew where he wanted to move, he quipped that he did, but his wife had a different idea in mind.

Five people will be running for the three full-term seats, including incumbent Betti Anne McVey, Michael J. Cofer, Maddalena Schemichen, August Daleo and Thomas Rosetti.

The board’s newest member, A.J. Barchetto, will be running for the one-year seat. He was appointed by the board in June to replace longtime member Jeff Bonicky, who resigned in May. Barchetto will be opposed at the polls by Rachel Harper.

If the Pinelands BOE has more candidates than it does available seats, the opposite is true in the Little Egg Harbor School District. Three three-year seats are up for grabs in that seven-person board on Nov. 5 and only one person, Theodore T. Kielb, filed a nominating petition.

The remaining two seats can be filled in two ways. First, people with the most write-in votes could fill them. If there were no write-ins, or if the people receiving write-in votes declined to accept a seat on the board, the board would appoint members to serve one-year terms.

Three current LEHSD board members, President Robert A. Moncrief Jr., Donald Gross and August Daleo, who is running for a Pinelands seat, chose not to seek reelection. —R.M.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.