NJDEP Joins Alliance to Expand Use of Zero-Emission Vehicles

Apr 10, 2019

The N.J. Department of Environmental Protection is joining the International Zero-Emission Vehicle Alliance, a group focused on reducing greenhouse gas emissions from the transportation sector by expanding the market for zero-emission vehicles, Commissioner Catherine R. McCabe announced earlier this month. The DEP’s participation in the coalition complements a range of initiatives Gov. Phil Murphy proposed for the state to achieve 100 percent clean energy and transportation by 2050.

ZEV Alliance will focus on three topic areas in the coming year: implementing smart charging infrastructure, developing funding for the transition to zero-emission vehicles and expanding access to those vehicles.

“Transportation emissions comprise more than 40 percent of greenhouse gas emissions in New Jersey,” McCabe stated. “Accordingly, electrifying the transportation sector is an integral part of our strategy to mitigate the impacts of global warming and climate change. Participation in the alliance furthers our work in expanding the state’s network of electric vehicle charging infrastructure, improving air quality and protecting public health.”

Working with the alliance will bolster the DEP’s ongoing efforts to expand the electric vehicle charging infrastructure grant program It Pay$ To Plug In, the DEP pointed out, as well as upcoming electric vehicle test drives and a regional Drive Change, Drive Electric consumer awareness campaign coordinated by the Northeast States for Coordinated Air Use Management, a nonprofit association of state air quality agencies in the Northeast.

The DEP’s involvement with the alliance gives New Jersey the opportunity to build relationships and dialogues across the globe with partners on electric vehicle use strategies and best practices.

“New Jersey’s announcement will further the strategies outlined in the 2018-2021 Multi State Zero Emission Vehicle Action Plan and amplify the work being done in the region to build out electric vehicle infrastructure and enhance consumer awareness,” said Elaine O’Grady, policy and program director for the Northeast States group.

The alliance’s 17 member governments are Germany, Netherlands, Norway, the United Kingdom and Baden-Wurttemberg; the Canadian provinces British Columbia and Quebec; and California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington state.

To learn more about the DEP’s electric vehicle initiatives, visit drivegreen.nj.gov. For additional information on the ZEV Alliance, visit zevalliance.org. —J.K.H.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.