Challenging Conditions Test Sailors During LBIYRA Senior Championship

By David Biggy | Aug 07, 2019
Photo by: Supplied photo Several boats in the Sunfish class prepare to round a marker during the Long Beach Island Yacht Racing Association’s Senior Sailing Championships at Barnegat Light Yacht Club on July 28.

Harvey Cedars — While the weather was pleasant, shifty winds, pesky greenheads, shallow tides and heavy chop made racing conditions somewhat challenging July 27 and 28. Nonetheless, the Long Beach Island Yacht Racing Association held its annual Senior Sailing Championships at Barnegat Light Yacht Club.

During Saturday’s half of the event, sailors representing the Sandpiper, Sanderling Cat Boat and Mariner classes competed in a thrilling day of racing.

In the Sandpiper championship, a difficult six-leg course featuring four races created a compelling scenario. John and Stephanie Demming of BLYC won the championship cup, followed by Pete and Jacky Menninger of BLYC in second and Peter and Katie Bonanni of BLYC swiping third.

The Sanderling championship was won by Paul Wood and Mark Kaplan of BLYC following a tiebreaker with Justin and Savannah Monnig of BLYC. Alex Cano and Tim Levin of BLYC ended up a close third.

In the Mariner championship, graciously hosted by Surf City Yacht Club due to very low tides in the bay, Bill Watters and Tim Gallagher of Brant Beach Yacht Club placed first, followed by Newton Wattis and Kaylyn Joesten of SCYC in second. Jordan Wattis and Dennis and Mike Russom of BBYC finished third.

On Sunday, the Sunfish championship winner was determined after a triple tiebreaker. Competing in winds which gusted to more than 20 mph by early afternoon, the Sunfish sailors battled through four, hard-fought races. Steve Kunz of BLYC took first, edging John Demming following the tiebreaker, while Sally Wood McCarthy of BLYC finished third.

At the conclusion of the LBIYRA Senior Championship, the organization announced its annual Best Lady Skipper Award, given to McCarthy for her performance in the Sunfish championship – the second time she has won the award, previously receiving it in 1987. —D.B.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.