A ‘Hall’ of a Night for Barnegat Teachers and Staff

May 29, 2019

Around this time of year, school districts often hold awards ceremonies honoring the top achieving students. But on a recent evening, it was all about the teachers and staff as the Barnegat School District held a special ceremony, highlighted by the announcement of a new hall of fame with six enshrinees. The purpose of the hall, according to Barnegat Education Association President William Junker, is to recognize members of the education profession for their “vital role in shaping the future of individuals and society.”

The inaugural six are Rosalind Ribaudo, Louise Muth, Cynthia Corle, Holly Carson, Frank Constantine and Joseph Papernik.

From 1985 to 2006, Ribaudo served as as assistant superintendent, director of curriculum and instruction, principal of the old Elizabeth Edwards Elementary School and supervisor of basic skills.The Barnegat High School National Honor Society is named in her honor.

“She was an integral part of many of the academic successes the Barnegat school district continues to exhibit,” it says on her inscription.

Muth served as kindergarten and first grade teacher from 1980 to 2005. She received the governor’s award as teacher of the year in 1994.

Corle worked in the district from 1990 to 2016. Her inscription reads, “She was not only the heart of the ROBMS (Russell O. Brackman Middle School) office, but the entire school. She opened the school in September 1990 with her trademark smile and never stopped smiling.”

Carson taught in the district from 1984 through 2015 and was teacher of the year in 1995. She served on numerous committees and was an adviser to numerous clubs.

“She spent many summers revising curriculum in most subject areas as well as mentored several student teachers and students alike,” her inscription reads.

Known as “Mr. C,” Constantine was the longtime instrumental music teacher, starting out at the Cecil Collins Elementary School in 1983 and then going to Brackman in 1990, where he started the music program and stayed until his retirement in 2017. In recognition of his accomplishments, the Tri-M music honor society was named for him.

Papernik worked in the district from 1974 to 2001. Known as “Mr. P,” he was a health and physical education teacher and soccer coach. He was the high school’s first track and field coach, and the school’s gym bears his name.

At the ceremony, Barnegat also honored teachers, staff and community with the presentation of the superintendent’s INSPIRES (Individuals Nurturing Supportive Pride Inclusive Rigorous Engaging Succeeds) awards.

Honored for “being a leader in student  engagement were Eric Geddes, Kevin Liston, Cheryl Migliacci, Lesley Thomson, Jennifer Wojcick and Elizabeth Worsham.

“Building relationships to foster learning award” recipients were Kerry Bollenback, Elizabeth Elko, Katherine Gehrke, Jennifer Lane, Michelle Luteza, Mary Mitchell and Britanny Wishart.

Mary Cammarata, Nora Green, Suzanne Mayo, Sarah O’Neil and Leigh Sharpless were recognized for “leading our staff to inspire change.”

Honored for “excellence, ownership and pride” were Colette Bach, Chief Keith Germaine and the police department, Mayor Alfonso Cirulli and the township committee, Randee Covine, Ryan Dalon, Robert Davis, Kimberly Germano, Susan Harkness, Janet Park, Beth Ann Rapolla, Jill Spain, Margaret Zabohonski, Sweet Jenny’s and Lefty’s Tavern.

Honored for “promoting and supporting the well rounded student” were Kristen Blasi, Michele Cucinotta, Chelsey McCallum, Valerie Morris, Anthony Orecchio, Alison Stella, Maureen Tyrell and Erich Wald.

Emile Cherry, Rebecca Kane, Daniel McCoy, Susan Perugini and Joseph Tagliavia were recognized for “promoting successful student athletes.”

The award for “advancing in academics” went to Alexander Aschenach, Maureen Dudics, Donna Marie Durning, Erin Koovits, Maria Kozlwoski, Suzanne Mayho, Jennifer Meyer and Barbara Quick.

Recognized for “supporting special needs” were Deanna Baroloni, Zachary Bresher, Megan D’Arienzo, Kristen Howe, William Junker, Patricia Kilfeather, Robert Klasko, Debra Majewski, Kevin Peters, Susan Rogers, Mindie Sobrinski, Jeanne Soccodato and Jennifer Trombly.

“The Inspire awards we’ll be doing every year,” said District Superintendent Brian Latwis. “It was a surprise. We invited the recipients to the ceremony, but they weren’t told ahead of time about receiving the awards. I wanted to do this to recognize many of the outstanding teachers and staff we have. I probably could have honored a lot more.”

— Eric Englund


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.